Help us, improve your skills, have fun and enjoy Lisbon! =)

Alemanha

5

I had a wonderful time in Lisbon. The hostel was a really welcoming and cozy place and of course it was great to enjoy my meals on the roof top in the sun, looking at the river. 🌞 I had a lot of fun with the receptionists and other volunteers. 🫶 Since it's only 20h of work, there was plenty of time to explore Lisbon and the surrounding. I highly recommend and would love to be back soon!! :)

8 meses atrás


Destination respondeu

Thank you Emilia :) we'll be waiting for your visit!

Argentina

4

Una excelente experiencia en Lisboa! Tanto con el resto de los voluntarios como con las personas que trabajan en el hostel (recepción, desayuno, bar, housekeeping) me sentí muy a gusto y me encantó trabajar con ellos. Solo diría que falta un poco de comunicación con los managers.

24 dias atrás


Destination respondeu

Gracias, Guada!

Grécia

1

I stayed for 5-6 days! The hours were respected even tho you may work 8 hours long some days! The overall experience was super disappointing! I chose this experience because I saw very good ratings but since the moment I arrived,I was expected to figure out things on my own and they blamed me and they told me why didn't you ask reception. The bed was sleeping it was half broken and the breakfast was okay but for the hours you were working it was nothing a volunteer should be volunteering it's not labour . When I chose to leave, I received personal and unprofessional comments

1 mês atrás


Destination respondeu

Hello Maria,
You weren't expected to figure things out on your own but to be a little more proactive and interested.
You never received unprofessional comments. Actually, we believe the only person unprofessional was you, when you told us you were not leaving and we could count on you after being asked, and just left the day after without saying anything.
We recommend you to clarify better the conditions next time. :)

Reino Unido

4

I spent 5 weeks volunteering at Sunset the hostel, and overall I enjoyed the experience. The schedules are made so that volunteers have consecutive days off to explore Lisbon or visit other places, which was nice. The volunteers get a lot of perks as well which is nice, although I wish we were told about it upfront, as I missed out on some that I would've really have liked to do. The shifts are fine, beds I think could be divided between two volunteers, as sometimes I'd have more than 25 beds to do in 4 hours. The volunteer room takes some getting used to, there wasn't any AC or windows.

1 mês atrás


Destination respondeu

Thank you for your feedback, Saya!
We'd just like to mention that the perks are the first thing we mention when we reply to your applications, and that the rules for the beds shifts are 20 beds in 4h - if you finish it before the shift ends, then you continue. However, management and receptionists were always available to help in case you had any doubts!
Regarding the AC, after you asked us, we placed AC units at the rooms.
See you soon!

Reino Unido

3

It was a rough start- reception was kinda rude and far from welcoming. The bed was dirty, and the volunteer room was insanely dirty, humid, and had no ventilation (one window that doesn't open). Magda kindly let me stay in guest dorms for a week, which helped. Work was ok-reception and breakfast were easy, bed shifts were tough. Double shifts had no breaks (8hrs). The rooftop was great, and after week 1, things improved, you make friends and the staff warm up to you lol. I overall enjoyed the experience. Advice for first timers: request a video call, read reviews, and talk to past volunteers!

3 meses atrás


Destination respondeu

Hi Imogen,
We're very sorry you felt that way. We'll make sure the themes are addressed.
If only some of this feedback got to us earlier, we could've clarified some aspects. For ex, volunteers are more than allowed to have a bigger break between double shifts, whether it's to eat or to have a quick shower after the beds shift.
We didn't have the chance to review your performance but we'd have given you 5⭐ because the feedback was always very good.
Hope to see you soon!
Magda

Holanda

5

Volunteering at LDH was my first volunteering experience ever and it was amazing. You get a clear schedule with the shifts, the work was very manageable and the expectations were well communicated. I loved working reception because you got to meet people from all over the world. The staff and other volunteers were super welcoming and really made me feel like home. On your days off, you can explore Lisbon or other parts of Portugal. The hostel was super social with a lot of fun events happening every week. Overall, I had an awesome stay and I would absolutely recommend it!! :))

8 meses atrás


Destination respondeu

Thank you for your feedback and for your time here, Ezra :))

Reino Unido

5

I had an amazing time volunteering at LDH! The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, creating a positive atmosphere from the moment I arrived. The other volunteers were fantastic too, and we formed a great community and I felt at home. It was also a great opportunity to meet loads of incredible people from all over the world. The work was fair, with manageable tasks, and I always felt supported. I'm so grateful for the opportunity, and I'll definitely miss the place. I can't wait to come back someday. I highly recommend volunteering here to anyone, it's an unforgettable experience.

9 meses atrás


Destination respondeu

Thank you for your feedback, Seren! We are glad you enjoyed your experience!

Estados Unidos

5

This was my first volunteer location and it was fantastic. I felt welcome and that the expectations were well communicated. Hours were reasonable and plenty of time off was given to explore the city. The hostel is very welcoming with a great common area with lots of seating and events taking place often. It's in an awesome location, very central to the historic downtown area so there's always things to do. The only downside is that in the volunteer room, the pipes in the bathroom would smell, but it was manageable with air freshener. I had an amazing time here and would happily return again!

9 meses atrás


Destination respondeu

Thank you so much for your feedback, Lillian! We will have your suggestions into account and we hope you come and visit in the future :)

Chile

5

I stayed at Sunset Hostel and my experience was quite good overall. The volunteer rooms are separate from the hostel rooms. You'll share with 2-3 other volunteers, which is fine, and the single beds are comfortable. However, the rooms don't have windows, which can be a downside. There are three different shifts: Breakfast, Beds and PR. It's flexible, as you can swap shifts with other volunteers if needed. Breakfast is included only between 8:00 and 10:30. You can join the tours offered by the hostel, but only if there are spots available on the same day.

9 meses atrás


Destination respondeu

Thank you for your feedback, Ignacia! :)

Estados Unidos

5

I had such an amazing time at LDH! You get to meet so many cool awesome people, whether it's the staff, guest or the other volunteers which really become your family. The tasks are as described, beds can be a little bit difficult and physically exerting, max number of beds is 20 so you just have to get through them. The reception shifts are light and very fun to do, you get to talk to guests as you are checking them in and meet tons of people! Lisbon the hostel became like a second home for me, I will definitely be back!

9 meses atrás


Destination respondeu

Thank you, Brighton! Everyone enjoyed working with you and we hope you can come back even if it is for a visit :)

Aplique agora