Spend your days off at the beach!

United States

5

Best experience I've ever had, i made friends that i still talk to today. I really recommend staying at this hostel !!!

over 6 years ago

Brazil

5

I'm so happy to be part of this hostel, I had great experiences and made great friendships. Thank you for the unique opportunity to be with you. See you!!

over 6 years ago

Hungary

5

Excellent team, volunteers, management and staff. I totally recommend it

over 6 years ago

Argentina

2

BEST: - Volunteers, they were best people. WORST: 1.My wallet fell from my bag near the pool and a guest took it. Two witnesses saw him I notify the managers who have told me that could't do anything . Asked them to check the cameras and refused. I lost my ID and AUD 200. They allow enter any person without any control. 2. Location is in the middle of nothing (3 km to market). 3. For these situations I decided to leave before. I notified 8 days in advance and they kept my AUD 100 deposit saying that I had not stayed the 6 weeks. I didn't break anything and I did my job correctly all time.

over 6 years ago


Cooly replied

Hey Matias,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're so sorry you were a little disappointed with your stay.
I totally understand how horrible it must have been to lose your wallet. We really did try our best to get to the bottom of what happened but the area wasn't covered by our security cameras and the guest in question offered up his luggage for us to check and nothing was found.
We do state in our description that we have 4 courtesy bus runs into the town centre per day, so we assume that people will realize that we're not centrally located when applying. "The middle of nothing" might be a bit steep though, the beach and some shops are within 5 minutes walk.
You didn't receive your deposit back because you didn't stay for the time you agreed to, it states in our "House Rules" that this is the case, you also signed an agreement when you arrived stating that you understood the terms of your stay. You leaving early meant we were understaffed over our busiest period.
During your stay we had no idea you weren't happy with us, we're actually quite shocked by your review, I wish you had told us while you were here and we might have been able to do something to make your stay more enjoyable. Again we're very sorry you didn't have the best experience and please know that we will strive to be better.
Thank you for all your help while you were here, and we wish you all the best in your future travels :)

Brazil

5

Best hostel and crew ever 💛

over 6 years ago

United States

5

Working at the hostel was some of the best two months I could have spent in Australia. The hours were easy and the people are some of the chillest and most fun people you could ever meet. Cooly the hostel may be smaller compared to other hostels but that's what made it like family. It was easy for everyone to hang out and even guests just staying for the night were always welcome to hang out back with us. I recommend anyway looking to have fun, meet cool people, and relax to stay here. I'll miss all the Cooly staff!

almost 7 years ago

Spain

5

On my first week there I wasn't sure what I had gotten myself into and thought about leaving a few times. The result? I ended up staying for longer than 6 weeks and would have stayed more if I hadn't had my flight back to Spain. Some people have been staying there for very long and they immediately make you feel part of the family. Tessa and Chloe were always super nice and helpful with absolutely everything. I have not only gained a life experience, I've gained quite a few friends! I highly recommend it, the work load is super fair and life in that area is absolutely chilled! Love you fam :)

about 7 years ago


Cooly replied

Such an amazing person and worker. Miss you Andrea!

Argentina

3

My experience was good! I met very nice people, the manager is so friendly and the homework at the hostel was easy. The only thing to comment is not a hostel suitable for winter. Anyway it was a good experience.

almost 7 years ago

Brazil

4

I had the best time there. The job is pretty easy and you have a lot of free time to enjoy the beaches and everything. I made some good friends and I miss the time I spent there. Thank you guys for everything.

almost 7 years ago

Brazil

4

I've had an amazing time working at Cooly the hostel! During my stay, I've met incredible people and made great friends, both staff and guests. The hostel has a great vibe and Coolangatta is the place to be if you're looking for a chilled place with good surfing spots. Although the hostel's owner was very strict and sometimes rude with the staff, the hosts were very friendly and patient throughout my whole stay. Overall, I tottally recommend working at Cooly the hostel! it was an experience I'll never forget.

over 7 years ago

Apply Now