About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Home Stay Malacca, Malaysia

5 reviews5

Welcome to be my volunteers. We work and learn together

Higher chance of approval
This host has recently approved volunteers and is looking for more applications.
Immerse yourself in the local culture
A traveler recommended this host for those looking for a local cultural immersion
Connect with the locals
A traveler recommended this host to have close contact with locals
Save to Wishlist

What you offer


Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Help clean the kitchen, bedrooms, bathrooms and common areas.
Help with changing the bed linens and general housekeeping.
Help with check-ins, check-outs and guest assistance.
Learn more

What you get


Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
Shared Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other travelers.
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified hosts
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

Hello, im Ong Puay Aik who is running guesthouse in Melaka city, this is Home guesthouse. My guesthouse is strategically located in Melaka heritage city, just less than 5 minutes walk to Jonker street and china town. The language that i speak is english and chinese. I like to meet and know different friends from all around world. There is plenty of restaurants around my guest house ( with in 5 minutes walking distance )

Learn more


  • Intermediate English
  • Between 18 and 60 years old
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or pairs)

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more


Stay at least
1 week

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

5 Reviews


Host & Team


Hours & Tasks


Home Stay


Learning & Fun


How this experience will transform you

1 Immersing in the local culture

1 Meeting locals



I had a great experience. Job was really easy because now there are no many guest due to covid. The house is really comfortable. And i have plenty time to visit the city. Peter was very friendly, thank you!

about 1 year ago



host really nice and so welcome . the place is comfort . job desk is not difficult cause host and friend teach and tell with clearly . recommended for other

almost 2 years ago



I had a great experience, it was my first volunteer at a hostel and I really enjoyed it. Peter is a very nice person who he lets you organize your way and gives you a lots of tips about the city. As far as you are done you have free time. I met very nice people.
Thanks Peter!

almost 2 years ago



I had an awesome time in Melaka. Peter was a really great host, he answered my questions all the time and he gives me tips on how to get to places and where to eat. He also provided food for me and one of the best things is you can cook food, do the laundry and you get a free bike. It is a quiet hostel and clean most of the time.

over 2 years ago



Excelente experiencia Peter es muy amable. El lugar es una casa grande con pocas habitaciones, la rotación de personas es poca, el trabajo super sencillo. Tenes mucho tiempo para recorrer la hermosa ciudad en bicicletas que te prestan. Y podes cocinarme tu propia comidad. Lo recomiendo ampliamente. Me he sentido como en casa y he conocido una ciudad preciosa.

Thank you Peter, you are great.

almost 2 years ago

About the host

Hosted by Ong

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 70% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in 19 days

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Step 1

Become a member of our community to get access to all of its benefits.

Step 2

Apply to as many positions as you want, and chat with any host.

Step 3

If a host thinks you’re a good fit, you’ll be pre-approved.

Step 4

Check for required documents, tickets, and local health recommendations.

Step 5

Confirm your trip with all the Worldpackers safety.

Step 6

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact.

Step 7

After your experience together, you and your host leave reviews.

Step 8

Sign up for our WP Programs to earn some money while you travel.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works