Free stay in an international atmosphere in a beautiful city!

Israel

2

All weeks were overtime. 22-32 hours (not including micro-tasks) also felt like 24/7 work when stepping out of the room. Some workers had low tolerance to explain what to do. Most were fine to be around. I had to learn one of the shifts 3 times because of lack of organization. My temporarily lacking knowledge was not tolerated by a worker. Another time a worker threw a tantrum on me. A friend heard it and said it's not fine that he did it. Management: On the one time I asked for help in a schedule misunderstanding, I was told it's my problem and was left to fix it. Communication lacking.

9 months ago


Monika replied

Dear Valerie! As already mentioned! Thank you for your support at Hostel Ruthensteiner! We wish you all the best on your trip and may you find the right place for you where you will be treated the way you wish and where you will get the recognition that you miss in your opinion at Hostel Ruthensteiner!

Argentina

3

This exchange is great to stay in Vienna without spending much €. Among the (+) topics, you meet ppl from all over the world, you get many benefits, and the tasks are usually easy. On the downside, most of the weeks I did more than the agreed 20hs; and since volunteers live there, there are 'microtasks' that they expect you to fulfill, like keeping the common kitchen tidy or covering some staff that is arriving late or called sick last minute. This could be important if you are staying here while studying or working, just be ready to set your boundaries. Anyway, I had a nice experience overall

9 months ago


Monika replied

Dear Juliana!
Thank you very much for your honest feedback! We are of course pleased that you had an interesting, exciting experience with us and that you met many people from all over the world.
Unfortunately, the period in which you were with us coincided with numerous changes in the company and a large change in personnel because some of our part-time employees have completed their studies and are now taking new professional paths that correspond to their university education. Some new employees are bringing some new life into our lovely colorful house!
In addition, one of the Work&Travel team members caused great unrest in the team through inappropriate behavior. I am very sorry about that! You have been a great support to us and thank you for helping us during this somewhat difficult time!

Italy

3

One of the coziest, cleanest hostels I have ever stayed in. It's a shame I had to leave early.

over 1 year ago

Spain

5

This was my first worldpackers experience and i had such an amazing experience volunteering at this hostel. The staff is so welcoming. The volunteers organize their own schedule so you can plan your trips or your days off. Totally recommend.

over 1 year ago

Mexico

5

When I decided to take some months off to travel as a volunteer I was not prepared for what Hostel Ruthenstainer had for me. It was truly one of the best experience ever. I got to know amazing volunteer from all over the world and really create some lasting friendships, the staff was so welcoming they made me feel for the 2 months I spent here that it was my home. Don't hesitated to apply here. Thank you Monika, Juan, Matt, Varun, Ramiro and all of the staff. I will see you in the next volunteer reunion 🫶🏼❤️

over 1 year ago

Brazil

5

The best and more organized volunteering experience I had (it's the 5th). Fair working hours, tasks and shifts. Freedom to decide the schedule with your volunteers coworkers weekly so you can plan your trips! Very well located and allows you to explore the near cities and counties! The menagement have meetings with the volunteers to see what can be improved and to listen to us, very nice! Totally recommend

over 1 year ago

United States

5

I had the most amazing time at the hostel. It felt like a home away from home. Immediately the team offered structure and guidance and was organized from the moment I arrived. They da great job at creating a safe environment for guests as well as volunteers. the hostel was also very flexible with working hours. The facilities are so homey and cozy it's a great place to be. The experience as a whole, meeting the other volunteers, working alongside the staff, and getting to experience Vienna is extremely special and I would recommend it to anyone.

over 1 year ago

Argentina

5

My experience was beautiful, from the first day I arrived I felt at home. It's a big but cozy hostel where tasks are very well distributed and everything works in harmony. It was very easy to make friends with all the volunteers and I carry unforgettable memories in my heart. We work less than 20 hours per week which allows us to have 3 days off and plenty of free time to explore Vienna and other nearby cities. I loved the freedom I had to either create a recipe and cook for 30 people or design activities to do with guests. Common area is perfect for meeting other travelers. I'm very thankful!

almost 2 years ago

Ireland

5

My experience at the hostel has genuinely been the best volunteering experience yet. As volunteers, we had a lot of freedom to pick our own shifts to divide up the work. All hours were respected and the work was very sociable and easy. Living at the hostel was great - the team dorm was lovely with a good amount of space and the facilities were pretty good. Its such a chill, but super sociable place - so I got to mix with travellers from all over the world. Not to mention my fellow volunteers who became like a family for me (miss you guys <3). Highly recommend !!

almost 2 years ago

Italy

5

My experience at the hostel has been fantastic. The volunteers and the staff team have welcomed me and treated me like family, which will remain in my memories. I have learned a lot during my stay here and I recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy a cozy, artistic space and meet wonderful and fun people.

almost 2 years ago

Apply Now