1 FEMALE volunteer needed for December

United States

4

The volunteer work was well-structured and organized. I always knew my schedule weeks in advance, which I really respected. Staying at the hostel was also a great experience. Volunteers had free breakfast, the location was extremely central, and the social atmosphere made it easy to meet people from around the world. It's also a very large hostel. The only downsides were that the Wi-Fi was very limited and unreliable, so many of us had to spend more on data. Additionally, a few reception staff, including the hostel manager, were not the kindest in their interactions with volunteers.

3 days ago

Italy

4

This was my first volunteer experience, it was really nice and I would like to repeat it in the future. The hostel was well organized and the rooms were as described, so shared rooms were not large but always clean. Working hours were always respected and the workload was not too heavy, it was perfectly in line with what the hostel gave you in return. The hostel is in a great location, allowing you to visit the city more easily. This experience also allowed me to practice and improve my English, which was my main goal. In conclusion, it was a great experience that I highly recommend.

20 days ago

Italy

3

Volunteering at the hostel was a good experience overall and I'd do it again. The work was a bit demanding but manageable, and I met some great people. The biggest downside was the heat — the building has na/C and it gets extremely hot in summer. Also, even when we finished tasks early, we had to stay until the end of the shift doing nothing, which felt a bit unfair. Still, I'm grateful for the experience!

about 2 months ago


St Paul's replied

Hi Gonzalo, thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a positive experience, though we understand that the hot weather may be challenging without air conditioning. The volunteers are normally asked to stay behind and do additional tasks until their shift is finished. If you have been asked to stay behind, but not given any tasks to do, then this is something that we will have to discuss with our kitchen and housekeeping staff.
Happy travels!
Peny

Costa Rica

2

I appreciate the opportunity to collaborate. However, there was poor communication from the reception staff, who expected volunteers to know rules that had not been explained and reacted with reprimands. I also had to work while sick, which I found inappropriate. It would be important to improve the clarity of information and the treatment of volunteers for future experiences. Thank you.

2 months ago


St Paul's replied

Hi Yender, I am sorry you had a negative experience while staying with us. If you could send me an email with specific examples, I can discuss them with the team, to ensure it won't happen again. During your induction it's been mentioned to you, that if you are sick you can tell Reception before your shifts has started. I am not sure to which occasion you are referring, but if you could provide more information, I'd be happy to address that too. Kind regards, Peny - Duty Manager

Argentina

3

The experience overall wasn't bad, the work hours were usually respected and the work load wasn't bad. Still, there are changes to be made. First of all there were rats on the flat and they didn't do anything for two weeks. Also they put stops on the windows so that they could not be opened more than 10cm and while i understand they had some reasons I think it shoul've been talked with us before leaving the flat so enclosed. Lastly the wifi didnt work in the rooms nor the flat, which wouldnt be a huge problem, but in the rooms theres practically no signal so you aren't able to use your data.

3 months ago


St Paul's replied

Thanks for your feedback and for volunteering with us. We work with a pest control company who visited twice during your stay to place traps and seal gaps. The building is old, and while we don’t have rats, small city mice can sometimes enter if the kitchen isn’t kept clean.

Window restrictors are a legal safety requirement, and Wi-Fi is only available in common areas—we understand that this may have been frustrating.

We appreciate your help and wish you all the best.

Argentina

4

It's a good experience. The chefs are really nice and you can meet many people.

3 months ago

Italy

4

It was funny because i've met a lot of people from a lot of countries and everything here it made me grow up, and the most of the staff is very very kind

3 months ago

Korea, South

4

Thank you so much, everyone! This was a great trip for my first time in the hostel—all thanks to you! I hope we meet again!

6 months ago

Colombia

5

Staying with the hostel was a great opportunity to meet and interact with travellers, you really feel comfortable with the schedule they have and the tasks that need to be completed.I highly recommend this experience

9 months ago

Brazil

5

I had a good experience working at the the hostel the hostel. There were definitely some areas for improvement, but overall it was a positive experience. I'd recommend it mainly for its excellent location — it was incredibly convenient to walk anywhere. Plus, I made some great friends during my time there.

9 months ago


St Paul's replied

Thank you for your kind words Keny. Your feedback helps us improve ourselves, and we will certainly try and address any issues that you faced during your stay. Kind regards, Peny - Duty Manager

Apply Now