Cashel Holiday Hostel, B&B

Hi all. We are a small hostel, BnB located in Medieval town in central Ireland. We collaborate with the government by providing accommodation to people, so we have long term guests living in the hostel. We are looking for more volunteers to join us. We prefer a self-motivated volunteer who is good at house keeping and like to take part of hosting guests in hostel, B&B. There are 12 pubs, an old castle, restaurants & cafes in this historical town.

In exchange for only 18 hours help per week, 3 hours per day. We offer a free dorm bed (shared with other volunteer), free Wifi, free tea, coffee, free laundry facilities. You can also help out 3 extra hours on the weekend for one extra day off. We don't offer any meal but our volunteers often cook together in the fully equipped hostel. The grocery is cheap to buy in 4 big supermarkets here. We need help with cleaning rooms, toilets, showers, kitchens, ironing & reception just some simple daily tasks to keep our place clean & tidy. Please email us with a profile photo if you are interested.

**From Dublin: Buseireanne 245X bus to Cashel (Main Street Bake House) bus stop. From Cork 245X bus to Cashel (Main Street Jct. Friar St) bus stop. **From any other directions: All Must change bus in Cahir (Castle St-The GateHouse) bus station to Cashel (Main Street Jct. Friar St) bus stop.

We try our best to make our volunteers feel like home here. They get to meet guests from all over the world during their stay here to practice their English with local native English speakers & other volunteers.


Reviews

4.5
(37 reviews)37

Staff & Host

5.0

Hours & Tasks

4.0

Hostel

4.5

Learning & Fun

4.5

Italy

1

What was promised didn’t reflect reality. There’s no manager role,just cleaning. I didn’t feel safe especially at night. The house environment was chaotic and heavy, with frequent disruptive behaviors, especially involving alcohol.
The role described as “manager” was actually cleaning, and the room assigned to me was not livable and very dirty. I couldn’t unpack or settle in, and ended up spending most of my time isolated in an uncomfortable and unclean space. Although Ntapo was personally kind and tried to be available, the conditions didn’t allow me to grow. I left after one day.

2 months ago

Italy

5

I really enjoyed spending this time in Cashel – it was a very rewarding experience. I had the chance to talk a lot with the people living in the hostel, which made it even more special. The tasks were simple and took place in the morning, which gave me time and space to continue with my remote work. A special thanks to Ntapo, who was always around and ready to help whenever needed, and also to the other volunteers, who were a great support throughout my stay.

2 months ago


PJ replied

Thanks so much Johnny you have contributed a lot to our team and you were always good to anyone both volunteers and guests. You will always be missed. We really enjoyed your presence, we wish all the best for your future career.

Argentina

4

This was my first experience volunteering. Cashel it's a beautiful and quiet town.
The work it's not too hard, just regular housekeeping and you will only work during the morning, but here are some things I'd like to point: there are "long term guests" (mostly homeless people) so it's not your regular hostel, they are nice but they can be quite loud sometimes. Also, it's really hard to keep the kitchen clean, since most of the guests don't clean after the cook.
The room was fine, but there was a problem with the shower and it wasn't fixed.

4 months ago


PJ replied

Rocio was kind to the guests and co workers including me as the Manager. She was doing her job to the fullest and even ask for more tasks. She was very kind we are going to miss her. We learned history of Argentina and south America because of her. Actually she was our history teacher and gave us lessons for free. We wish her all the best.

Chile

3

I had a generally pleasant experience, with good communication among volunteers and a helpful manager. However, I'm not giving it 5 stars for two reasons: several guests stole food (the cameras weren't working, and no action was taken), and the manager's boss asked me to do work at his house that wasn't part of the agreement. The work at the hostel was light and enjoyable, but I suggest improving the manager's handling of requests.

5 months ago


PJ replied

Hi Manuel
Thanks very much for your review. You were a good guy to us and you helped us a lot you respected all the guests and fellow volunteers. You were excellent when coming to cleaning the bathrooms. you will always be missed. We are so sorry about your food being stolen and we will improve the security to make sure guests and volunteer property not stolen anymore.

Brazil

2

I spent 18 days with cold water in the room and the manager didn't fix it and the light in the room was burnt out and he didn't buy a new one from the first day, the hostel was always dirty and we tidied and cleaned well every day but immediately they messed everything up, the manager is a great person and the owners we didn't see much but they seem to be calm, but I really don't recommend it because you will work until 12:00 every day and you won't be able to go out to see anything other than the city which takes you an afternoon to see everything and then you're stuck in the city because you

7 months ago


Perfect for you if you're looking for

Rural

City & Town