About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Farm Loudonville, United States

4.5
3 reviews3

Help and Learn about Regenerative Farming, Tree Crops, & Garden!


Higher chance of approval
This host has recently approved volunteers and is looking for more applications.
Connect with nature
3 travelers recommend this experience for reconnecting with nature
Immerse yourself in the local culture
A traveler recommended this host for those looking for a local cultural immersion
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

21h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Animal Care
Help look after and take care of animals.
Handyman
Help with a wide range of repairs or building.
Farming
Plant crops, sow seeds and help in outside tasks.
Gardening
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Learn more

What you get

2

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Shared Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other travelers.
Tent
You will sleep in a tent at a camping site.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Lunch
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
Dinner
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Pick Up
We will pick you up when you arrive, and take you to our property.
Permaculture Course
Take part in our Permaculture course for free.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Support
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified hosts
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Insurance
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

It's pretty flexible here. There're a lot of tasks that can be done at any time by individuals and other times when it's great to have a group of people helping on a single endeavor. Some of the things that you might do are harvesting, planting, gardening, brewing and spraying compost tea, mulching, pruning, forestry, farmers markets, running the stand, beekeeping, scarecrows, gathering data, irrigation, mowing, fertilizing, and making biochar.

Learn more

Requirements

  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or pairs)

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

Nov
Dec
Jan
Feb
Mar
Apr
Stay at least
1 week

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

3 Reviews

4.5

Host & Team

4.5

Hours & Tasks

4.0

Farm

4.5

Learning & Fun

4.5

How this experience will transform you

3 Get in touch with nature

1 Immersing in the local culture

1 Learning about sustainability

1 Practicing English

Ecuador

4

This blueberry/chestnut farm is a good introduction if you’d like to learn about seasonal blueberry and chestnut production. There are a few things that may need to be clarified and talked with the host Martin upon arrival. I would recommend this farm for couples. Bear in mind, cleaning needs to be done regarding your accomodation/kitchen upon arrival. There are 3 kids and 2 dogs living at the house in the property. Volunteers stay at the barn in different campers or the 1 rustic room upstairs the barn. Communication and transparency could have been better. Best sunrise/sunsets & BLUEBERRIES

4 months ago

Chile

5

Es mi primera experiencia con Worldpackers y me encantó!! Estuve viviendo un mes y medio con Martín y es una persona muy atenta y acogedora. Está preocupado de tus necesidades y te abre las puertas de su casa!
Respecto al trabajo, yo fui en tiempo de cosecha de castañas por lo cual esa era mi labor diaria, una cubeta por día! Cuando terminó el tiempo de castañas las tareas eran como del día a día de la granja, limpiar, ordenar, jugar con los niños (tiene tres hijos), entre otras.
Yo lo recomiendo, ya que son tres horas de trabajo al día y lo otro libre para ti.

25 days ago

Chile

5

El lugar es hermoso, muchos animales y las noches estrelladas. Se tienen que sacar castañas, manzanas, reparar cosas, reciclaje… etc, todo coordinado con Martín.
Hay mucho trabajo de piernas, pero en realidad todo es muy sencillo.
La gente es muy simpática y tratan de hacerte “parte de”.

about 2 months ago

About the host

Hosted by Martin

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 90% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in 2 days

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Step 1

Become a member of our community to get access to all of its benefits.

Step 2

Apply to as many positions as you want, and chat with any host.

Step 3

If a host thinks you’re a good fit, you’ll be pre-approved.

Step 4

Check for required documents, tickets, and local health recommendations.

Step 5

Confirm your trip with all the Worldpackers safety.

Step 6

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact.

Step 7

After your experience together, you and your host leave reviews.

Step 8

Sign up for our WP Programs to earn some money while you travel.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works