About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Farm Guthrie, Logan County, United States

5.0
6 reviews6

Ladies Position--WINTER Barn Help September 16, 2020-March 2021


Practice English
5 travelers recommend this host to practice English
Immerse yourself in the local culture
4 travelers recommend this host for those looking for a local cultural immersion
Needs help immediately
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

25h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Gardening
Help grow plants and cultivate gardens
Animal Care
Help look after and take care of animals.
Learn more

What you get

1

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Shared Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other travelers.
Team Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other people.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Lunch
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
Dinner
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Pick Up
We will pick you up when you arrive, and take you to our property.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Support
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified hosts
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Insurance
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

WINTER- Willing to do basic work helping sweep barn & mucking, help with feed times, cleaning, organizing, possible grooming horses. We maintain a 6-day work week with consistent barn hours. Most days will consist of barn work for the first part of the day with routine horse management. The availability of a lesson in the afternoon on days Kim(head trainer) is here for those wanting to learn. Evening feed is typically 1+ hour to complete.

Learn more

Requirements

  • Beginner English
  • Between 19 and 40 years old
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or pairs)

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

Sep
Oct
Nov
Dec
Jan
Feb
Stay at least
4 weeks
Stay up to
3 months

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

6 Reviews

5.0

Host & Team

5.0

Hours & Tasks

5.0

Farm

5.0

Learning & Fun

4.5

How this experience will transform you

5 Practicing English

4 Immersing in the local culture

3 Meeting locals

2 Creating true social impact

2 Get in touch with nature

2 Meeting international travelers

Brazil

5

Cheri and Viet are good hosts. It was worth the experience. However, I think there was a little more patience when explaining the tasks, as I was the only one who was not American and the only one who did not speak fluent English. But it was worth the learning, I was able to improve my English.

Sep/17/2020

United States

5

Horse Feathers is an amazing place. Cheri and Viet are excellent host that really try to make you feel at home. It was a great experince and opportunity to learn about horses and ranch life!

Sep/09/2020

Colombia

5

It is an incredible place, they make you feel at home, the food is excellent if you like animals you will have many dogs and cats to pamper. The facilities are very comfortable and beautiful.

Cheri the hostess treats you like her son and that is very valuable. Viet her husband is very kind and cordial, every Saturday is movie night. The sunsets are beautiful in addition to their beautiful horses. I am very grateful to them for giving me the opportunity, they are people with a very big heart :)

May/30/2020

Brazil

5

So i have to thank everyone i was well received the experience was very valid. 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👍🏽

Mar/06/2020


Cheri replied

Thanks Marcelo! We truly loved having you stay with us and your help was tremendous! We wish you all the best and stay in touch always! Your family now!

Colombia

5

This was the best experience of my life, RT & Viet were the best hosts ever. They were so kind and patient. They make u think like you are in home. Now they’re a family form me.
What they do with the horses is admirable. The job is not to hard, but learn a lot.
I’m extremely grateful you them. I hope to truly come back in the future.
God bless you so much RT & Viet.

Mar/02/2020


Cheri replied

Oh Kevin. You are another one of my sons now.. Thank you for all your help and I hope you learned some very valuable skills while here. Keep up the good work in the photography and don't forget to help your mom when home 😉

View all reviews

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Cheri

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 90% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in 1 day
3 published videos
This host has 3 published videos showing a little bit about their place

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

Certificate

Courses

Learn from influencers and community experts. When you complete a course, you earn a certificate in your profile for the new skill you’ve just developed.

Worldpackers Community

How to become an outstanding Worldpacker

  • 20min
  • 4.6

How do trips with Worldpackers work?

With the WP Trips and WP Pack plans, you can contact the host of your choice and travel safely as often as you like.

Step 1

Apply for as many volunteer opportunities as you want

Step 2

Chat with hosts and ask questions about the position

Step 3

Check the necessary documentation if you want to go abroad

Step 4

If you are approved for volunteering, confirm your trip on the platform

Step 5

Pack your bags and travel like a local!

Step 6

After the experience together, you and the host leave reviews

Check out all our plans