Give our Hostel a hand and enjoy Budapest!

Holanda

2

We had a great time with the other volunteers, fun working place and nice colleagues, good work, paid overworking. However, the management was the worse we have ever experienced. They do not communicate .The volunteers were the ones helping us and explaining everything. Their workingschedule is terrible; they put you in last minute, too much hours and expect you to be available 24/7. And if you speak up for yourself: “I won't go into discussion, see you at the shift!” They have very little respect, unprofessional. Once they woke us all up 6.30 outside working hours to help, couldn't disobey.

quase 2 anos atrás


Avenue respondeu

Dear Eliette,

We're thrilled to hear you had a great time with your fellow volunteers and enjoyed the positive working atmosphere at our hostel. We deeply apologize for the issues with management and the working schedule.

I'm pleased to share that we've already begun implementing measures based on feedback from current volunteers, and we're gratified to note that they're already appreciating these changes. Effective communication and professionalism are paramount to us, and we're committed to creating a more positive and respectful working environment for all our volunteers.

We've revised the working schedule to ensure a better work-life balance, with a focus on providing ample notice for shifts. We've also made sure that early morning calls for assistance outside regular hours are minimized and handled with more consideration.

Your feedback is valuable, and it's driving these positive changes. We genuinely hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future to experience these improvements firsthand. Feel free to reach out with any further suggestions or concerns. Your well-being is important to us, and we're here to ensure you have a fulfilling experience with us, just as our current volunteers are enjoying the positive changes we've implemented.

Kind regards,
Avenue Management

Estados Unidos

3

15 days into my month volunteering at the hostel I broke my ankle and had to leave. When I texted the manager, Daniel, he replied “oh daamn”. He did not respond for nearly a week in regards to me leaving the volunteer apartment. The management doesn't care for the staff as people, we are just labor. I was also over-scheduled when I stated I didn't want the hours. I went to this hostel being told by Kumar that I would give walking tours, but I was only ever housekeeping and bartending. The other volunteers made this trip for me. I loved being in Budapest and overall had a great time.

2 anos atrás


Avenue respondeu

Hi Ella,

We are happy that you have enjoyed your time here, it is very important for us as well and aslo a goal of ours to have a very good community of volunteers here in our hostel.

We are sorry about what happened to you.

Unfortunately as soon as you have messaged me I had to find a quick replacement for your shift this was one of the reasons that i have disappeared.

As we were talking about this after THREE days i was on a holiday with limited access to the internet, probably you have already written this review, since you were very cooperative with our talking on chat about how are you doing and me saying sorry for not responding.

It is sad to see this response afterwards.

Also it is unfortunate that you couldn't join the walking tours, but at the moment as our agreement says so, we had to find solutions to substitute empty shifts in the schedule.

Kind regards,
Daniel

Espanha

3

I was really divided when it came to this review because I got very lucky with my shifts and I ended up working in the reception, the bar and as a party animator but that wasn't the case of the rest of the volunteers and they had worse jobs. The treatment was also different and they just didn't have any empathy. Maybe this review is not what the hostel was expecting from me because my experience really has been great, I loved my shifts and the city but I can't ignore everything that they've done to the other volunteers because any of those things could happen to new volunteers as well.

2 anos atrás


Avenue respondeu

Dear Pilar,

Thank you for your time here, it was really  nice to have you as a volunteer!

I would like to respond to some of the things you are mentioning.
We are giving the shifts regarding each member's skills, which includes preciseness, language skills and overall experience in that exact position. You have received the bar and hosting positions because we were really satisfied with your language skills and you were a very fast learner as I pointed out previously in my review as well, so in short it is not been decided by luck or randomness, it is being decided by several other aspects and skills.

We are treating not less than any of the volunteers then any of the other employees, we are a fast growing business with a lot of guests, we have to perform to the expectations of our company and industry standards. We are clearly stating during the interviews and in our introduction, that all the volunteers have to work on the same quality as any of the other employees in our company. We are actually talking about those volunteers who are actually staying for 3-6 even 9 months of periods, even more we just had a volunteer who almost reached the 1 year period here in our hostel, they are hard working people who are getting their extra bonuses for the extra hours they are working. We had several volunteers who had terminated their stays with us, but then later they decided to come back because of the community and the overall experience they had here

I am not sure what you mean by that this could happen to any of the new arrivals.
The new arrivals are facing fun and serious experiences for their volunteering career.Not many of the places can guarantee the level of professionalism and possibilities that you can try yourself in. Any of the volunteers here who have finished their period in our hostel can surely thell that they are hard working and they are up to all the challenges that the tourism industry could offer. We have a really nice community here, in the past few months our biggest problem was that they were having so many and good parties that it affected their arrival in time to their shifts.

I am hoping you can understand our point of view!

Kind regards,
Daniel

Aplique agora