Madelyn

  • Age: 27
  • Nationality: United States
  • Languages: Norwegian, Hebrew, and English

Volunteer Experiences

Experience in United Kingdom

Hostel Fort William, United Kingdom Aug/2018

Housekeeping, Handyman, Cleaning, and Administration

Image
Review written by the host
5

Madelyn came to help us for the month of September. We found her to be easy to talk to, and she had a great, positive attitude when it came to both cleaning and talking to guests. She would always be welcome to return!

Endorsements
  • Responsibility
  • Sociability
  • Proactivity
  • Commitment
Adc894a0dc6b7bf5f575daf831a55756
Madelyn replied

Thank you very much! I loved working with you guys, and it was lovely to have the opportunity to spend the month with you in such a beautiful area. Thanks for being fun to work with, and for hosting me. :)

Experience in United Kingdom

Hostel Anstruther, United Kingdom Aug/2018

Cleaning, Housekeeping, and Reception

Host didn’t write a review
Adc894a0dc6b7bf5f575daf831a55756
Review written by Madelyn
5

I enjoyed volunteering at this hostel a LOT! The work is pretty easy-- about 2 hours of cleaning rooms in the morning, and then being available to check guests in after 4pm. There is a schedule that is quite fair, and allows everyone to have time to plan time outside of the hostel and travel around Fife! It's a quiet, peaceful town, but with lots of cute fishing towns within walking distance or short bus ride. I loved the hostel, and the guests who stay there are of a nice variety. I loved working here, and would recommend it to anyone who wants some beauty and the peace to enjoy it!

Worldpackers Programs

Here are the contributions made to the Worldpackers community

Blogger

Writing articles for the Worldpackers Blog

Articles written as Blogger

View all

10 reasons Worldpackers is not only for budget travelers

12min

How to take a gap year and gain career experience while having the time of your life

11min

DearTraveler.net

I was born in California, USA, and my love for exploring new places and cultures to share them with others has never stopped growing! I've learned a lot about travel-- from road trips with my family, cruises, studying abroad, volunteer work, and trips with friends, not to mention professional travel planning, and my goal is to share truthful stories about my adventures in a way that combines practical tips and advice with the whimsy of discovery. I write to encourage others to travel with an open heart, and an eagerness to learn more about themselves and the world we live in! Transformational travel is my passion-- I believe that by connecting to the world around us, we also make discoveries about ourselves. Let's travel!


How can Madelyn help you?

First trip abroad
Vacation Travel
Travel as a Student
Budget Travel
Social Impact
Work Exchange
Travel as a Couple
Backpacking

Languages

Fluent
  • English
Beginner
  • Norwegian
  • Hebrew

Skills

I'm an expert!
  • Animal Care
  • Child Care
  • Cleaning
  • Cooking
  • Housekeeping
  • Kitchen Hand
Some experience
  • Arts
  • Farming
  • Gardening
  • Music
  • Painting & Decorating
  • Photography
  • Reception
  • Social Media
  • Social Work
I want to learn it
  • Administration
  • Bartending
  • Teaching Languages
  • Tour Guide

Background

Education

After graduating from high school, I studied for two years at Calvary Chapel Bible College in California and in Israel. I am currently studying Business Administration and Communications.
Painting has long been a hobby of mine that I have nurtured through classes as well. I have samples of my artwork available upon request.

Work Experience

I have had a great variety in my work experience as I have sought to narrow down my career pursuit and find what I enjoy. My longest standing job has been in private childcare (babysitting, nannying, and church daycare- 7 years). I have also tutored children in English (1 year), acted in and costumed local musical theatre productions (3 years), and worked in food service as a waitress, wedding caterer, and at a frozen yogurt shop (3 years).
I have strong phone and people skills and have worked for a semester as a front desk receptionist at a conference center in Southern California, as well as a month at a hostel as a receptionist.
Other work experience includes an internship at a study tour in Israel for a semester, where I was a resident advisor who managed student meal funds, helped students with interpersonal disputes, and became accomplished at cooking for large groups of people on a budget.
I’ve done a lot of things, and want to try everything!

Travel Experience

Along with being well-traveled within my own country, I have been many places outside of it. I have lived in Israel for a total of six months, traveled to meet family in Norway, and been to Athens, Paris, Berlin, and Germany’s Black Forest. I’ve been to Northern Ireland and England, and spent the summer of 2018 traveling for four months— two of which I was in Scotland as a Worldpacker, volunteering in housekeeping and reception at two different hostels.