About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Home Stay Genoa, Italy

11 reviews11

Family stay and language exchange in Genova, Italy

Practice English
A traveler recommended this host to practice English
Immerse yourself in the local culture
A traveler recommended this host for those looking for a local cultural immersion
Save to Wishlist

What you offer


Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Teaching Languages
Teach a language to guests or local communities.
Learn more

What you get


Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Private Room
You will have a bed in a private room. In other words, a room just for you.
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
You are entitled to a free lunch, every day of your stay.
You are entitled to a free dinner, every day of your stay.
Free Laundry
You can use our laundry room freely.
Get free drinks or beverages.
Drink up! Get free and tasty drinks for yourself.
Pick Up
We will pick you up when you arrive, and take you to our property.
Language lessons
Take free language classes at our place.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified hosts
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

Hi, this is Francesco and Laura. We are software developers that live in Genova. We are looking for someone a girl who will help us with English conversations, correcting our grammar and pronunciation and help with housework. We would like to have a sharing experience, where the friendship that comes from living together in the family is as essential as English skills. We also have two beautiful dogs, our furry kids

Learn more


  • Fluent English or Fluent French
  • Over 18 years old
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or pairs)

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more


Stay at least
4 weeks
Stay up to
24 months

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

11 Reviews


Host & Team


Hours & Tasks


Home Stay


Learning & Fun


How this experience will transform you

1 Practicing English

1 Immersing in the local culture



My stay with Francesco and Laura was wonderful, they are extremely kind, it is not a joke, but from the first moment in the house you become and feel like a member of their family. I have no point of complaint, quite the contrary, I can only thank you for the days I spent volunteering with them. They have a calendar where we can write our days of work and time of day off, and this is very important, because we were always aligned and everyone helped each other.
They have an incredible knowledge of life, and many stories to tell. I certainly hope to return one day to volunteer with them.

2 months ago



Laura and Francesco are an amazing couple! They will take care of you like family and do everything they can to make you feel comfortable. Plus, Laura is exceptional in the kitchen! 🍕
Togo and Balto are the most obedient dogs I've ever met! They're very human (I mean it) and lovely and take care of them is a real pleasure.
If you go to this house you'll feel a part of the family. Also you'll have the possibility to know beautiful places in Genova and in the small cities around!

8 months ago



I have not enough words to describe my experience with Laura, Francesco, Togo e Balto. They became my family since the beginning. Francesco and Laura were always polite, kind and worried to make my experience a great one. The dogs almost speak (It's true!). We had been at some wonderful places, they helped me a lot with personal things. I also ate A LOT (great food)!!! Laura is a magician in the kitchen. The tasks are simple and the 'work hours' are respected. I can't wait to come back!

10 months ago



My experience with Francesco & Laura was absolutely amazing. I can’t recommend it enough. From the moment I met them, they greeted me with open arms and invited me to be apart of their family. They are the warmest, loving, funny, generous and kind people; I feel so incredibly fortunate that I got to spend three weeks with them and their gorgeous dogs because I learned so much and made so many beautiful memories.

Thank you SO much for having me, Laura and Francesco. It’s only been a few days but I’m already missing being with my Italian family in Genova!

12 months ago



Francesco and Laura are the most amazing people, who make you feel like family since the 1st day. I'm so lucky to have found them on my way! <3
They have their rules, of course, but nothing out of the ordinary, and the tasks are simple (just care and maintenance of the house + english speaking). The dogs are such cuties and easy to deal with. The apartment is perfect, very clean and well equipped - it's not in city center, but only 30 min by bus/metro. If you're able to connect to them as a family and share experiences, you'll definitely have a great time. I sure did! <3

over 1 year ago

Francesco replied

Thamiris is one of the most impressive people we have ever met. We are happy we had the luck to get to know you, and we can only recommend to everyone: invite her. You will love her. She is such a power girl! Always positive! Always friendly! Always helpful! And such healthy self-esteem. She is the person she wants to be and lives the life she wants to live, and I have great respect for her. I remember you almost every day while I take care of the "miniMe" you gift me, and all Togo, Balto, Laura and I miss you a lot.

View all reviews

About the host

Hosted by Francesco

Response Rate
This host usually answers to 40% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in 2 days

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member



Learn from influencers and community experts. When you complete a course, you earn a certificate in your profile for the new skill you’ve just developed.

Worldpackers Community

How to become an outstanding Worldpacker

  • 20min
  • 4.6

How do trips with Worldpackers work?

With the WP Trips and WP Pack plans, you can contact the host of your choice and travel safely as often as you like.

Step 1

Apply for as many volunteer opportunities as you want

Step 2

Chat with hosts and ask questions about the position

Step 3

Check the necessary documentation if you want to go abroad

Step 4

If you are approved for volunteering, confirm your trip on the platform

Step 5

Pack your bags and travel like a local!

Step 6

After the experience together, you and the host leave reviews

Check out all our plans