About COVID-19
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we recommend you to stay informed about WHO's and local authorities' recommendations.

Hostel Bangkok, Thailand

5.0
19 reviews19

Teaching language and playing with my 5 years old son


Top Host
This host receives lots of worldpackers and has a high average rating, being recognized by the community as a Top Host.
Higher chance of approval
This host has recently approved volunteers and is looking for more applications.
Connect with the locals
6 travelers recommend this host to have close contact with locals
Connect with international travelers
5 travelers recommend this host to meet travelers from all around the world
Save to Wishlist

What you offer

24h

Hours per week
Help out and collaborate with your host only a few hours per week.
Child Care
Help look after, educate and instruct children.
Learn more

What you get

1

Days off per week
Have some time off for yourself, go explore the city or rest for a while.
Shared Dorm
You will have a bed in a shared room, which means you will share the same room with other travelers.
Breakfast
You are entitled to a free breakfast, every day of your stay.
Discounts on Restaurants
Get discounts at nearby restaurants.
Discounts on Drinks
Get discounts for drinks and beverages from our bar.
Discounts on Tours
Get discounts for tours and excursions around town.
Bikes at your disposal
You can use our bikes any time you want.
Use our equipped kitchen
Feel free to use our kitchen and make your own delicious food.
Support
Support
Get help from the Worldpackers support team in case you need it, at any point of your trip.
Verified hosts
Verified Host
This host has been verified by our team before joining the community.
Insurance
Worldpackers Insurance
Did something not go as planned? Contact our team.
Learn more
Learn more

The Experience

Allan, a friendly 5 years old boy is home schooling since COVID situation is not suitable to go to school. I am looking for someone who are fluent in English or Chinese to educate and play with him in order to help improving language skills. He will need to go to Grade 1 next year.

Learn more

Requirements

  • Fluent English or Fluent Chinese
  • Under 35 years old
  • Be from outside Thailand
  • Only hosts solo volunteers (doesn’t accept couples or pairs)

What's not included

Flights, Travel Insurance, Internal Transportation and Visa

Learn more

Availability

Jan
Feb
Mar
Apr
May
Jun
Stay at least
4 weeks

Talk to those who have lived the experience

In our community, you can talk to worldpackers who have already collaborated with this host and get your questions answered directly.

You can ask things like:

  • a) How was your experience with this host?
  • b) How was your day-to-day routine?
  • c) How much did you spend on this trip?

19 Reviews

5.0

Host & Team

5.0

Hours & Tasks

5.0

Hostel

5.0

Learning & Fun

4.5

How this experience will transform you

6 Meeting locals

5 Meeting international travelers

5 Immersing in the local culture

4 Practicing English

3 Developing social awareness

1 Learning about sustainability

Brazil

5

Bangkok Bed and Bike was my home for a month and I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. Effie and her family are great people, very hardworking and a lot fun to be around. I had a great time with Allan, their 5-year old train lover son. Soda and Effie were very polite, welcoming and introduced me to a few great places in BKK and surroundings. P Tan was lovely and a true companion. The job matched what had been agreed and the working hours were accurately respected. The accommodation met all my needs. Overall, it’s an experience worth having if you’re planning a trip to BKK!

14 days ago

Switzerland

5

It was truly an amazing experience! The people are very welcoming and I felt at home from the first day on. The work was different everyday and I enjoyed it! Effie and Nancy were very flexibel with the working hours. (when to start and finish) I loved it and would definitely recommend it!

about 1 month ago

United States

5

Ms. Effie is amazing Highly recommended worldpackers.

9 months ago


Effie replied

We were blessed to have Eric with us though it was just a short period. Eric was a good heart person. He has a bar knowledge and social media skills. The jobs were perfectly done and he always asked if we need any help though it's not his shift. He was flexible and enthusiastic about learning how to cook. He enjoyed eating local food and learning cultures. He helped me taking care of my son and speak English with him regularly. We highly recommend Eric to the other host and of course we'd love to have him with us again.

Portugal

5

I had a great experience at the hostel! Effie was a very good host, always nice and polite. Her son Allan is a wonderfull sweet boy who enchanted my heart! The best I took from Bangkok! ❤

9 months ago


Effie replied

Telma is sweet, friendly, and enthusiastic about learning. She was very well present and there's always a smile on her face. She took a good care of my 4 years old son and my son loves her. She also did a very good job in cleaning. We love to have her around and we highly recommend her to the other hosts.

Brazil

5

I had a great experience staying a month at the Bangkok Bed and Bike!

The place is beautifully decorated, AC acclimatized, good wifi connection, the bed is comfortable and there's a pool table to play at all times.
The owner Effie is caring and committed to the volunteers, to the point that the let the volunteers stay at the hostel even when it was closed during the Covid-19 health crisis.

I'm very thankful for this experience, and so for the great people that I met there!

almost 2 years ago


Effie replied

It was a great time having beautiful Paola in our team. She was young, energetic, and willing to learn. She was smart and very helpful. Her English is perfect! Recommended!

View all reviews

About the host

  • • Recently Online

Hosted by Effie

Host%402x Top Host
This host receives a lot of worldpackers and has a high average rating.
Response Rate
This host usually answers to 90% of the messages
Response Time
This host usually writes back in Less than a day
6 published videos
This host has 6 published videos showing a little bit about their place

Want to know more about this host?

We only provide detailed host information and videos to Members

Become a member

How do Worldpackers trips work?

As a member, you can contact as many hosts and travel safely as many times as you want.

Step 1

Become a member of our community to get access to all of its benefits.

Step 2

Apply to as many positions as you want, and chat with any host.

Step 3

If a host thinks you’re a good fit, you’ll be pre-approved.

Step 4

Check for required documents, tickets, and local health recommendations.

Step 5

Confirm your trip with all the Worldpackers safety.

Step 6

Have a transformative experience and make a positive impact.

Step 7

After your experience together, you and your host leave reviews.

Step 8

Sign up for our WP Programs to earn some money while you travel.

Check out all our plans Learn more about how it works