Help! We've Got a Baby in the Middle of Full Moon Party!

4.0
18 reviews18

Host & Team

4.5

Hours & Tasks

4.0

Hostel

3.5

Learning & Fun

4.5

How this experience will transform you

3 Practicing English

3 Meeting international travelers

2 Learning about sustainability

2 Meeting locals

1 Developing environmental awareness

1 Creating true social impact


Argentina

5

It was a fantastic experience, I love phangan, and this place is fantastic to enjoy phangan, party and nature, people and quiet!! Brandon and Loren always made me feel like in home. I was able to practice my English, enjoy much the island and parties. When I come back to Thailand, I would choose this hostel again and again!!!

1 day ago

Brazil

5

It has been a great experience in many ways, I recommend it to anyone who really seeks to connect with people and stay in a calm place and being in touch with nature.
Mun are very welcoming person and have a lot of funny stories to tell also showing the Island and all the beautiful places to go and the best places to eat, we had barbecue with the guests and the staff, and every night everyone hang out at the kawah Padi bar to talk and have some cocktails and beers, it was an incredible experience in Kawah Padi, it was a really great time.

I will definitely be back.

almost 2 years ago

India

4

It is what it says: a social experience group right in the center of the craziest party island in the world. You should come here expecting daily parties, a lot of night-outs and loads of fun
The work is very unstructured because of the nature of the place: once a month during the full moon week you have crazy crowds while other weeks are pretty mellow in comparison. This is a very unique experience which you'd probably not get anywhere else.
The acco is basic but sufficient. Loren is absolutely amazing!
Also, you not get complementary breakfast, so keep that in mind while budgeting

almost 2 years ago

Spain

5

The 3 weeks that I have been in Wild & Wandering have been amazing! BB and Paduka are great people, always willing to help you. I had so much fun with all the volunteers and we had a lot of free time (after full moon) to visit all the island :)

over 2 years ago

Argentina

5

It was my first experiences with Worldpackers and really take me all my words! First of all is such amazing to be volunteer in a hostel. You can meet a lot of people everyday and you get so fan! I been there painting a wall, and it was amazing because they trust you and you can paint wherever you want because they want differents artist and expressions. But not only I get so fun with the coustomers and with the painting, we make a little family in just 1 week. I really have to stay only one week and at the end I stay 17 days! Amazing atmosphere, beautiful people, contact with local people!!

over 2 years ago

Argentina

5

The experience was super fan, I feel at home since the first second.
It's one off that messy but good places.
Rafa, Sofia and Vivi are the best!!
In full moon, we organize clean and prepare the rooms and after that it's more about be with the Gest and make them fell at home too.
I definitely recommend the experience.
If you are looking for a fancy place keep looking.

over 2 years ago

Sweden

5

So Wild And Wandering is one those places the Koh Phangans Haad Rind to what it is, where a quirky chill vibe that in a moment can turn into a full blown neon colored party mayhem. I came first off to design a wall and got pretty much to what I wanted which was great. The other volunteers and staff were welcoming I soon felt just at home. The hostel accommodation is basic, plywood walls and all, but you know that checkin in to hostel so ride with it. Coming up for the full moon you might get to help out with some other stuff but be sure to stay around and help out because of the party!

almost 3 years ago


Loren replied

Thanks! It was great having you with us! Your art style is awesome and well suited for a fun hostel, and I really appreciated your hard work and willingness to help out with anything and everything! Would love to have you back any time!

Spain

5

Excellent experience with the best companions, I would definitely repeat it again!

almost 3 years ago


Loren replied

Thanks so much! We loved having you here and would welcome you back any time you want! 😍

Germany

4

Me and my Girlfriend volunteered there for about 10 days. coming right for the start of the full moon party, we had many tasks right from the beginning, like doing the check ins and making the rooms ready. if you don't want to stay around the hostel the whole day we would recommend you to make a time schedule up with the superior. after full moon it gets very chill and there is less work to do.
we had an amazing time! it was very fun to party with the guest and to paint the bar:) Loren and the whole staff are great people! We would love to come back one day

almost 3 years ago


Loren replied

We were supposed glad it worked out, but the timing of your arrival just before moon meant jumping right in with not a lot of time to get comfortable. You guys were great though and we really appreciated your help! Would love to see you again! 😜

India

1

What they ask on the worldpacker app its not what you're asked to do. I was asked to clean alot instead i took this volunteering for party promotion and bartending. But when i reaches them the scenario was completely different. As soon as i arrived the hostel i was given a broom in my hand. Hence after 2 days i ended up the volunteering and i was asked to pay for the stay. Infact i was charged more than the rental for the other customers. Hence i would not recommend this and also do ask them and be very clear before taking this volunteering.

about 3 years ago


Loren replied

We send messages every applicant describing, expectations before approving their stay. He agreed to all and then after approval was very difficult to communicate with, ignoring all advice in travel planning and arrangements to be here. Should have been a red flag, but some people are just not good or experienced travelers, but great volunteers.

But other staff and volunteers immediately complained about his unwillingness to work, said he only wanted night shift, so when we asked him to work night shift instead he said he wanted to go party. He sat outside smoking cigarettes while we all worked, and when I ran next door for an errand, he disappeared and wasn't seen again until the next afternoon.

After 1 day, he asked if he could just book a room & stay as a guest instead, "volunteering isn't for me". OK, sometimes volunteering just doesn't work out, so we gave him a room for half price on our busiest time of the year, New Year's Eve. We even wrote Worldpackers asking how to handle it - can't rate him good since he didn't actually work, but didn't want negative as it was resolved maturely.

However, we then received an email from Worldpackers that he falsely claimed we forced him to pay us for not working, when he had said he didn't want to work but wanted to stay and asked if he could book as a customer! In the end he left early and was upset that he didn't get much refund as he wanted (he thought the low season days should be priced the same as our #1 peak days, so demanded more money back).

Overall, he was unwilling to work and dishonest to Worldpackers, and that's how we ended up with a review like this! If you agree with his review and attitude, you will probably not be happy working for us as we expect people to be part of the team, honest and motivated, as 95% of our volunteers are!

Apply Now