Volunteer Experiences

View all

Experience in Portugal

Cortiçô Da Serra, Portugal May/2019

Animal Care, Handyman, Farming, and Gardening

E5f4bda8739259159c4eb6a4a35ee80b
Review written by the host
5

I can highly recommend Is. She goes above and beyond what I would ask of her. Isa sees what needs to be done nd does it without waiting to be asked. She works to a high standard and is conscientious. Always happy, confident and easy company. Pipoca is the most well behaved dog and you hardly know she is there.

Endorsements
  • Responsibility
  • Sociability
  • Proactivity
  • Commitment

8264c4a10976440100d16e70fd75068f
Review written by Isa and Pipoca - Onde Brilhem os Olhos
5

I'm so happy I didn't give up after my first attempt to contact was expired... Eventually Andrea answered and accepted our application and that's how it started our amazing experience in Serra da Estrela. The landscape is incredible, the energy is fantastic and dealing with the goats was definitely the best part of the experience! Not to mention how wonderful was their welcome to Pipoca, she felt home so quickly with all the other animals on the farm! ♡ Thank you Andrea and all living things at Rainbow Lodge to make us feel so comfortable during our stay there ^_^

Experience in Portugal

Permaculture project Arcos de Valdevez, Portugal Sep/2018

Handyman, Farming, and Gardening

5b891f648dc5ab240548a3fa3e03e224
Review written by the host
5

Isa e Pipoca, foram umas companhias fantasticas nestes dias. Ambas se identificaram rapido com o nosso espaço e realidade. Isa sempre pronta a colaborar, no muito que há para fazer. Divertida, prestativa e cooperante. Recomendamos Isa a todos os host...a Pipoca é um amor muito educada e muito meiga. Adoramos ter a duas entre nos. Voltem quando quiserem, Bota.Nicas tb é vosso ;)

Endorsements
  • Responsibility
  • Sociability
  • Proactivity
  • Commitment

8264c4a10976440100d16e70fd75068f
Review written by Isa and Pipoca - Onde Brilhem os Olhos
4

Bota.Nicas is the perfect place for those in love with nature who are willing to help and have a good dosis of creativity. The place is still very rustic, so there is a lot to do and you are free to pick any task you fit to. The sky is the limit there =)

5b891f648dc5ab240548a3fa3e03e224
Maria replied

Grata , Isa. saudades vossas ;) Pipoca é muito falada por cá. Bjks as duas. Ca vos esperamos ;)

Experience in Spain

Farm Murchante, Spain Apr/2018

Social Work, Handyman, Farming, and Music

F896ff74eaacd7718aeed3ab7e017e1d
Review written by the host
4

Fue un experiencia muy bonita he aprendido mucho .


8264c4a10976440100d16e70fd75068f
Review written by Isa and Pipoca - Onde Brilhem os Olhos
5

Sara e eu tivemos uma incrível conexão, acredito que fiz uma amiga pra vida toda! Mesmo não sendo fluente em español, a comunicação fluiu bem, com liberdade e respeito. Aprendi um montão sobre bioconstrução, permacultura, vida simples... E a Pipoca não queria deixar esse lugar! Já sinto saudades imensas! ~_~ Sara and I had an incredible conexion, a friendship for the whole life! Even me not speaking good Spanish, communication was light and respectful all the time. I learned a lot about bioconstruction, permaculture, simple life... ♡ Pipoca and me are already missing Pedriñal a lot!

Worldpackers Gigs

Here are the contributions made to the Worldpackers community

Expert

Answering questions from other travelers

Articles written as Blogger

Uma experiência renovadora de voluntariado ecológico na Espanha

5min

Paulistanas, nômades e analógicas. Por definições: A de duas pernas é turismóloga, curiosa, uma idealista desencanada, servidora e amante. A de quatro patas é a melhor companheira de viagem do universo, carente, viajada e espirituosa. As duas são lentas. E essa é uma baita duma qualidade! Na estrada há mais de 3 anos, pedalamos pela Alemanha, Áustria, Itália, Espanha e Portugal, isso sem contar umas viagenzinhas pelo sudeste e sul do Brasil como preliminares. Juntas seguimos em busca de outros céus, onde brilhem os olhos! -.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.- From São Paulo, we are analog nomads. One has two legs, studied tourismology (yes, such word exists!), is curious, present and lover. The other one is just the best travel partner ever, needy and witty. We make the slow living lifestyle and we love it. We have been on the road for more than 3 years now, cycling through Germany, Austria, Italy, Spain and Portugal, besides small trips around Brasil when we started. Our motto is to keep going for somewhere our eyes are sparkled.


How can Isa and Pipoca - Onde Brilhem os Olhos help you?

Sabbatical
First trip abroad
Travel Solo
Budget Travel
Social Impact
Eco
Over 30
Backpacking
Using Worldpackers
Quit your Job

Languages

Fluent
  • Portuguese
  • English
Intermediate
  • German
  • Spanish

Skills

I'm an expert!
  • Administration
  • Animal Care
  • Cleaning
  • Farming
  • Housekeeping
  • Kitchen Hand
  • Reception
Some experience
  • Arts
  • Cooking
  • Gardening
  • Handyman
  • Night Shift
  • Painting & Decorating
  • Party Promoter
  • Social Work
  • Teaching Languages
  • Tour Guide
I want to learn it
  • Bartending
  • Music
  • Photography
  • Social Media
  • Video Making
  • Web Developer

Background

Education

Well, I have a Bachelor and a Master degree, but I don't really want to list them here. Not that I regret having had them, nor I'm ashamed or don't like it, it'sjust that I'm really looking foward for different approaches right now, and I rather pretend I'm a "empty bottle", ready to be fullfilled. ;-)

Work Experience

My professional background includes IT and Project Management, but the most pleasant jobs in my life I did not for money.
Helping in a shelter rescuing street dogs was one of the first volunteer jobs I've done in my life (there I met Pipoca ^_^). Later, travelling, we cooperated in dozens of bio / organic Farms, learning about dealing with animals, going for wood in the forest, growing, harvesting, washing and selling the vegetables in the markt and helping on Farmshops.
I also cooked for families sometimes, which I just LOVE to do! ♡
We stayed at a Hostel and other Bed & Breakfast small businesses where we did all king of help: beds, toilett, kitchen, reception...

Travel Experience

We started in Brasil, where we traveled a bit by car through the south of the country. In Europe, we chose a bicycle as our main transport, which means we are slow travelers.
We definetly prefer skipping shopping and big / touristic cities.
Travelling has being our lifestyle for the past 3 years.